Caesar’s Pasta and Warm Salad

Gwyneth Paltrow is wearing me down, guys.  She’s pretentious.  She tells me how to a roast a chicken on her blog GOOP, as if this is some sort of revelation.  But she’s also one of the reasons I started this blog.  I’m not reinventing the wheel, but then again neither is she.  And she also totally shut it down at the Academy Awards this year.  She was super good on Glee, and I like her in Ironman.  I think I’m starting to like her.  Help me.  I saw this recipe while browsing on epicurious and thought “Oh, I used to make something like that in college and it was good.”  Jamie Oliver also deserves credit because his recipe served as inspiration for my final product.  Last but not least, a shout out to Delaney’s Hole in the Wall, a fine establishment, my former employer, and the biggest Boston Sports Fan I know.  This dish reminds me very much of their Caesar’s Pesto Pasta.  Which I think I ate at least twice a week when I was pregnant and waiting tables there.

Without further ado –

What Annie Cooked:

Caesar’s Pasta

Annie’s All Purpose Roasted Chicken (HA! Take that, GOOP!)

Green Salad

Step #1 – Roast Chicken

Step #2 – Bring water to a boil, add your favorite GF pasta

I tried deBoles Angel Hair this week.  I liked it!  Thinner than Tinkyada and just as good.  I used about 3/4 of the box.  However much that is.  12 oz, maybe?

Step #3 – Assemble The Sauce, make salad

This sauce is the namesake of this recipe.  Essentially, it’s a Caesar Salad Dressing.  Familiar and beloved.

Grate the zest of 1 lemon into a large bowl, use your reamer and add the juice from the lemon as well

Add the rest of the ingredients:

2 1/2 tablespoons olive oil

Two large handfuls of shredded or grated Parmesan, Asiago, or Romano cheese

Two Handfuls of shredded chicken, warmed in cast iron skillet with a sprinkle of dried Italian seasonings

One egg yolk

Handful of fresh basil cut into ribbons (I use scissors.  If anyone has one of those fancy Microplane brand fresh herb mills, report back).

A dash of fish sauce, or if you’re feeling gourmet, use a sardine.  But I hate anchovy/sardine, so I just try to forget how fish sauce is made and use that.

One large clove garlic, send it through your garlic press

A dash of Sriracha sauce if you like heat

Salt and Pepper to taste

Step 4 – Love That Dirty Water! (Toss and Serve)

Dirty Pasta Water is my new miracle ingredient.  Do not be deceived.  I have accidentally discovered this chemistry when making impromptu Mac and Cheese for Offspring.  Drain your pasta using the top to the pot.  Do not drain it completely.  If you prefer more precise instructions, drain it like you normally would, but collect 3-4 tablespoons of water to add to your sauce.  Add the spaghetti to your sauce and toss well.  Serve on top of baby greens.

The Verdict:

Amazing.  It tastes like there is cream is this.  Husband brought leftovers to work the next day and received inquiries from co-workers.  This is the ultimate sign of a good meal.  This is a keeper!

About whatanniecooked

Wife, mother, nurse, animal lover, outdoors enthusiast, kitchen hack.

Leave a Reply

